Wally Awards

About the Wally Awards

The Wally Awards were created in 2007 upon the tenth anniversary of the Off Broad Street Players to establish an opportunity to recognize dedication and excellence in participation both on and off the OBSP stage. Nominations for the acting awards are made by the individual stage directors for each production.

Award selections are made by the OBSP subscribers for the year under consideration. Each subscriber is sent a ballot and a stamped return envelope. Ballots are collected and tabulated by an independent source with no Off Broad Street Players affiliation. No member of The Off Broad Street Players or The Off Broad Street Players’ Board of Directors are aware of the results before the sealed envelope is opened the night of the ceremony.

The Director’s Choice, Lynn Duffy Girtain Memorial Award, and the Children’s Theatre awards are offered by The Off Broad Street Players organization. The selections of the Director’s Choice awards are made by the OBSP Artistic Director without nomination. The Lynne Duffy Girtain Memorial award is selected by the OBSP Board of Directors without public nomination. The Children’s Theatre award is selected by the OBSP subscribers for the year under consideration. The Children’s Theatre award nominees are chosen by The Off Broad Street Players Junior Board Artistic Director for the year under consideration.

Current Awards

Lynn Duffy Girtain Memorial Award
Most Promising Youth
Best Featured Actor in a Play
Best Featured Actor in a Musical
Best Featured Actress in a Musical
Best Supporting Actor in a Play
Best Supporting Actor in a Musical
Best Supporting Actress in a Musical
Best Actor in a Play
Best Actress in a Play
Best Actor in a Musical
Best Actress in a Musical
Director’s Choice
Best Ensemble
Best Play
Best Musical

Upcoming Wally Awards

The 10th Annual Wally Awards
Date: June 24th, 2016

6:00PM – 10:00PM

Terrigno’s Fairfield Inn
153 Bridgeton-Fairton Rd.
Bridgeton, NJ

To view the list of this year’s nominees please click here.


All tickets will cost $45 per person ($40 for OBSP Members and Subscribers) and include buffet style dinner and cash bar, live entertainment and the awards ceremony.

All payments are due by June 17th.

Tickets will be available through our Yapsody page very soon. Please stay tuned!

Past Winners

2014 Season Wally Award Winners
2013 Season Wally Award Winners
2012 Season Wally Award Winners
2011 Season Wally Award Winners
2010 Season Wally Award Winners
2009 Season Wally Award Winners
2008 Season Wally Award Winners
2007 Season Wally Award Winners
2006 Season Wally Award Winners

If you have any questions regarding the Wally Awards please contact our Wally Awards Chairman, Jason D. Smith at